Our Governance and Committees

Our governance  

Rural Doctors Foundation is governed by a Board of Directors who are either rural doctors or business people selected for their specific skill set.  

The Board are supported by various committees including the Executive Committee.  The Executive Committee comprises the Chair, Deputy Chair, Secretary and Treasurer.  They manage the nominations process for Board membership and review any human resources issues relating to the Chief Executive Officer. They also consider strategic matters requiring attention outside of Board meetings.                                   

We are guided by our Constitution which sets out our purpose, operation, and decision-making.  We make decisions in line with approved policies as defined in our Governance Manual. 

The Australian Charities and Not-for-profits Commission and Australian Taxation Office recognises the Foundation as a Deductible Gift Recipient (DGR).  We have held this status since 2015.

For a copy of our governance documents, including our Constitution, our Annual Reports and our latest Research, see our Resources page

Bringing diverse expertise 

Not only do we have a committed Board that is passionate about rural health, we have a diverse bunch of people who give so generously of their time to serve on our committees. See Our People page for details of our Directors.

 In addition to the experience and commitment of the Board, our Committee members  bring a wide range of skills and expertise to our decision making and provide significant support to the Board and to the executive team.

Innovation is part of our mode of operation and this is supported by robust governance. With the contribution of this inspiring group of professionals who challenge us to be better than we thought we could be!

At the heart of Rural Doctors Foundation are a group of people with a love for rural and remote communities.

What drives us is an understanding of their challenges and needs. A passion to improve rural health. And a commitment to make change.

Our Finance, Risk and Investment Committee 

The Finance, Risk and Investment Committee review all financial matters and risk issues and provide regular reporting to the Board

Stephen Buchanan

Treasurer and Committee Chair | Sydney

BBus (Acc), MBus (Applied Finance)

Rachael Gaven

Committee Member | Gold Coast


Ross Ole

Committee Member | Toowoomba

B Agr Sc, B Com, ADFS

Mark Scales

Committee Member | Brisbane

Professor Tarun Sen Gupta

director and committee member | Townsville


Our Program Committee

Our Program Committee  provide governance oversight to major programs including allocation of grants. It will monitor, make recommendations, and advise the Rural Doctors Foundation Board (Board) on matters relating to our key programs. They ensure all programs and grants are delivered in line with our purpose, and fit within our current resourcing and budget. 

Dr Tony Brown

Committee Chair | Roma


Courtney Coyne

Committee Member | Brisbane

Konrad Kangru

Committee Member | Proserpine

Leanne Patton

Committee Member | Charleville

Professor Tarun Sen Gupta

Committee Member and Director | Townsville


Vanessa Thorne

Committee Member | Sydney

Our Fundraising Committee

The Fundraising Committee works with the Board to define the Fundraising Strategy for the Foundation. They support the CEO and Relationship Manager and ensure that all fundraising activity is ethical and in line with relevant legislation and our policies. 


Glenda Colburn

Committee Chair and Director | Brisbane

Grad Cert Clinical Trials, EMBA

Rohan McPhee

Committee Member and Secretary | Brisbane


Ross Ole

Committee Member |Toowoomba

B Agr Sc, B Com, ADFS

Fran Avon

Committee Member and Chief Executive Officer | BRISBANE

BA Information Science, Graduate Diploma in Management, Diploma in Social Media